WIVB-TV led the way with six wins as the 3rd Annual Buffalo Excellence in Media
Awards (BEMAs) honored Western New York broadcasters.

The awards recognized the outstanding achievements of individuals and radio and television
companies in Western New York. The judging of the nominations was administered by an impartial
group of respected industry professionals from Western New York and across the nation.

More than 200 media members and their guests attended the award ceremony sponsored by
the Buffalo Broadcasters Association. WIVB/WNLO‐TV’s Lauren Hall and KISS 98.5’s Jud Heussler
served as the co‐hosts of the BEMAs.

The 2014 winners are:

TV Station of the Year:

Radio Station of the Year

TV Personality of the Year:
Steve Vesey of WIVB-TV

Radio Personality of the Year
Janet Snyder of KISS 98.5 (WKSE-FM)

Backpack Journalist of the Year
Rachael Elzufon of WKBW-TV

Rising Star Award
Lauren Hall of WIVB/WNLO-TV

Trailblazer Award
John Hager of Cumulus Radio

Pinnacle Award
George Richert of WIVB-TV

Behind the Scenes Maverick Award
Joe Maulucci of WBBZ-TV

Best Use of Social Media
Bryan Shaw of WIVB-TV

Sales Exec of the Year
Phil Banas of WIVB-TV & WNLO-TV

A number of high profile Western New York celebrities presented the awards including: U.S.
Attorney for the Western District of New York William J. Hochul, Jr., Executive Director of the
Albright-Knox Museum Janne Siren, former Buffalo Sabre Andrew Peters, America’s Psychic
Medium and national television personality Karyn Reece, New York State Broadcasters
Association President David Donovan and legendary Channel 2 weatherman and member of the
Buffalo Broadcasters Hall of Fame Barry Lillis.

“We are delighted that the BEMAs are growing in both award entries and attendance. It
has become the must-attend event for broadcasters every year,” concluded Heidi Raphael,
chairperson of the BEMAs. “Now our challenge is to make it even bigger and better next year.”

Here are photos from the 2014 BEMAs, courtesy of buffalo.com.

Share this post on: