After a brief hiatus, the Buffalo Broadcasters Association is excited to announce this year’s winner!

The winner of the Tim Russert Media Career Award for 2019 is Monica Manney.

Manney is a Western New York native and graduate from the State University of New York at Fredonia in May of 2019. She majored in journalism and minored in sociology and applied research in civil rights. She received the university’s highest academic honor, the Lanford Presidential Prize, at graduation for her outstanding contributions to the campus community.

She has interned in newsrooms across the country including WGRZ-TV, Spectrum News Buffalo, and CNN. She also completed internships with Walt Disney World, the Career Development Office and Student Wellness Center at Fredonia, and The Make-A-Wish Foundation.

Manney has attended national conferences including the CBC-UNC fellowship in Raleigh, NC; the North Carolina A&T fellowship in Charlotte, NC; NBC University in Detroit, MI; and the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) Conference fellowship in Miami, FL.

After graduation, Manney interned at CNN with HLN’s “Morning Express with Robin Meade.”

Additionally, she was a part of the Buffalo Broadcasters Association’s Third Annual Student Mentoring Program.

Manney will be honored with the Tim Russert Media Career Award on Thursday, September 19, 2019 at the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony for our commitment to a career in journalism.

Former winners include:

  • 2008: Amanda Hartman (College at Brockport)
  • 2009: Cassandra Eldred (Canisius College)
  • 2010: Amanda Ciavarri (St. Bonaventure)
  • 2011: Lauren Adams (St. Bonaventure)
  • 2012: Shannon Shepherd (St. Bonaventure)
  • 2013: Danny Bush, Jr. (St. Bonaventure)
  • 2014: Carl Lam (Fredonia)
  • 2015: Dan Schrack (Niagara County Community College)
  • 2016: Stephanie Aponte (Canisius College)
  • 2017: Noah Maciejewski (Fredonia)
Share this post on: