Remembering the past... looking toward the future!

Educational Engagement

The Buffalo Broadcasters Association is committed to preserving the rich past of broadcasting in Buffalo but also looking toward the future.

The programming provided by the Buffalo Broadcasters Association is aimed to benefit those students who are planning to pursue a career in broadcasting or work in a broadcasting related field.

Peer 2 Peer

To request a visit to your class, complete this form!

The Peer 2 Peer Speaker initiative is the first of its kind in the country where the rising stars of the broadcast industry are brought into classrooms at local colleges, universities, and high schools.

The program allows students to have honest and candid discussions about careers, expectations in their first job, and what it’s like to be a broadcaster in the digital age.

Visits are coordinated by Board Member and WGRZ-TV’s Carl Lam during the months of October, November, March, and April.

Current and former guest speakers in recent semesters include Katie Alexander (WIVB-TV), Andrew Baglini (WIVB-TV), Dan Baran (WGRZ-TV), Stephanie Barnes (formerly WGRZ-TV), Josh Bazan (formerly WKBW-TV), Nate Benson (formerly WGRZ-TV), Casey Bortnick (Spectrum News Buffalo), Matt Bové (WKBW-TV), Erica Brecher (WIVB-TV), Joe Buscaglia (WKBW-TV), Jenna Callari (WKBW-TV), Angela Christoforos (WIVB-TV), Laura Daniels (Freelance), Ed Drantch (WKBW-TV), Elizabeth Fuhrmann (WGRZ-TV), Katie Gibas (Spectrum News Buffalo), Lauren Hall (WGRZ-TV), Shannon Hazlitt (formerly WGRZ-TV), Jud Heussler (formerly WKSE-FM), Ali Ingersoll (Investigative Post), Cierra Johnson (formerly WKBW-TV), Carl Lam (WGRZ-TV), Heather Ly (WGRZ-TV), Stephen Marth (Spectrum News Buffalo), Tom Martin (formerly WIVB-TV), David Morales (WKBW-TV), Katie Morse (WKBW-TV), Brittany Muller (formerly WKBW-TV), Thuy Lan Nguyen (formerly WKBW-TV), Marissa Perlman (formerly WIVB-TV), Jenn Schanz (formerly WIVB-TV), Avery Schneider (WBFO-FM), Dan Schrack (formerly WIVB-TV), Jeff Slawson (WKBW-TV), Danny Spewak (formerly WGRZ-TV), Jennifer Stanonis (formerly WGRZ-TV), Paola Suro (formerly WKBW-TV), Kaylee Wendt (Spectrum News BUffalo), Ryan Whalen (Spectrum News Buffalo), Brandi Whytas (WLKK-FM), and Jeff Wick (formerly WKBW-TV).

If you’re interested in participating, you can fill out this form.

Mentorship Program

To apply to the program, click here.

The Buffalo Broadcasters Association’s Student Mentoring Program selects 3 talented students from WNY colleges and universities and prepares a customized mentorship program for each student. Students will meet with broadcast professionals and learn more about desired profession and learn from people in other positions within the industry. Participation in the program is by application only and you can click here for more details on how to apply to the program. The deadline for applications is Sunday, March 1, 2020 at 11:59 p.m.

Tim Russert Media Career Award

The award is given to a deserving student who shows promise in media field. To apply, click here to be directed to the criteria. The deadline for 2020 submissions will be announced soon.