The news came at the end of January that longtime reporter/fill-in anchor Claudine Ewing would take over weekend anchor duties.

Claudine Ewing officially took over the role of weekend anchor at the beginning of February. It’s a role that Ewing had taken on since March 2019, in addition to her reporting duties.

The Buffalo State College graduate and lifelong Western New Yorker has been with the NBC affiliate since September 1998 and started her career at WBEN-AM as a reporter and anchor. She is a celebrated journalist by winning numerous awards including national awards from the NABJ, the Associated Press, and nominations for the New York State Emmy Awards.

Ewing takes over for Ron Plants, who was off-the-air for a majority of 2019. In the announcement, it was noted that Plants has returned to the station in an off-air capacity.

Click here to watch the announcement of Ewing’s new role from WGRZ-TV.

Older photo of radio personality Cindy Chan

Longtime radio veteran Cindy Chan is joining the team at WECK-AM/FM. Many will remember Chan’s voice as the evening and overnight voice of 97 Rock (WGRF-FM) from 1979 to 2001.

Chan is now hosting the “Dance, Sing, and Boogie-Woogie” show on Sunday afternoons from 1 to 6 p.m.

“As a kid, I grew up in Buffalo listening to Cindy Chan. I loved her conversational on-air approach and her unique style of communication,” said owner Buddy Shula in a press release.

Chan joins veteran radio personalities Roger Christian, Jon Summers, Bobby O, Harv Moore, Moon Rivers, Danny Neaverth, and others.

Pete Weber holding an award at our BBA Hall of Fame from 2017

Pete Weber, the radio play-by-play announcer for the Nashville Predators, was named Tennessee Sportscaster of the Year in mid-January. This year’s announcement from the National Sports Media Association also came in as a tie as he splits the honor with Dawn Davenport, who works for the SEC.

Weber was inducted into the Buffalo Broadcasters Association’s Hall of Fame in 2017 as the Buffalo Bob Smith Honoree. He worked in Buffalo from 1976 until leaving to head to Nashville as a part of the NHL’s expansion.
This is the sixth time that he’s won the award!

Share this post on: