WIVB-TV’s Jacquie Walker is one of the few Buffalo broadcasters to be inducted into the prestigious Silver Circle from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, New York Chapter.

The ceremony held at the end of November in New York City recognized Walker for her contributions to her profession and community for 25 years or more.

Walker joined WIVB-TV in 1983 as an anchor and reporter after working in Rochester and Springfield, Illinois. She is also the only woman in Buffalo broadcasting history to anchor at one television station for 35 years, the longest tenure of any female anchor. Walker currently co-anchors alongside Don Postles during the station’s evening newscasts.

Her list of professional awards and community service is extensive, showing her dedication to the Western New York community. She has been named one of Business First’s Most Influential People in Western New York, earned the “Woman of Distinction” Award by the Girl Scouts of Western New York, and a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Multiple Sclerosis Society for over 30 years of service to people living with MS. For her list of professional accolades, those include numerous awards, nominations, and wins from the New York State Associated Press Association, and the RTDNA. Walker is also a 2011 Inductee into the Buffalo Broadcasters Association’s Hall of Fame.

She joins former WGRZ-TV Weather Anchor Kevin O’Connell and WGRZ-TV Chief Photographer Andy DeSantis as the only other Buffalo broadcasters to earn this distinction.

Courtesy of NATAS – NY Chapter

Also inducted into the Silver Circle are retired Sports Director Scott Clark from WABC-TV,  WCBS-TV’s Dr. Max Gomez and David Friend, Christopher Goutman, Curt Gowdy, Jr. from SNY, David Hyman from WPIX-TV, and former WNBC-TV anchor Sue Simmons. Gold Circle Inductees are recognized for over 50 years of service and included ABC News’ Diane Sawyer and WNBC-TV’s Chuck Scarborough.

Share this post on: